WORLDWIDE NEWS PROJECT

Issue

City Island Images wants to invite all of you to take part in a news project, 24 Hours In World Journalism.

The aims are journalistic excellence, the promotion of freedom of expression and the recognition of courage and integrity, as well as public enlightenment about our often misunderstood trade.

Last year was the deadliest on record for journalists, increasingly threatened by tyrants, religious fanatics, organized crime, militias, oligarchs, lawyers, politicians and many others who hate to read the truth, news headlines, broadcast journalism and citizens blogs.

With your help, this project will show journalists reporting on Somali gunmen and Mexican drug smugglers, on African warlords and Chinese crime bosses. It will roam from Bollywood to Hollywood, from Teheran to Washington, from Rio to Beijing and everywhere in between.

It will travel through the earth’s time zones to reveal how the media: TV newspapers, magazines, radio and the Internet operate in this new age of globalization. It will journey with war correspondents under fire. It will invade newsrooms. It will sit next to editors. It will explain why journalists succeed brilliantly and, occasionally, tragically.

It will also deal with human interest, health and family, love and motherhood, showbiz and fashion, travel and shopping, politics, work and sport – all human life – and describe the power of the photograph and the video.

If you wish, you may choose to write about the gentler, funny side of your working life. There are no real limits.

The date and time for this 24-hour project:

Start: 6:00 (6am) Monday, 11 March, 2013.

Finish: 6:00 (6am) Tuesday, 12 March, 2013.

These times are UK/Greenwich Meantime (GMT). It means the project begins in New York at 1:00am Monday 11 March ... Rio 4:00 ... London 6:00 ... Kinshasha 7:00 ... Istanbul 8:00 ... Nairobi 9:00 ... Moscow 10:00 ... Kabul 10:30 ... Delhi 11:30 ... Bangkok 13:00 ... Shanghai 14:00 ... Tokyo 15:00 ... Sydney 17:00 ...

If you are a journalist, affected by news-gathering, or interested in writing and producing content in any way, then please email City Island Images your angle - admin@cimages.me

Cover the basics: Who? What? When? Where? Why?

Write it in the first person. Add color and dialogue. Give your motivation, your hopes and fears. Reports from photographers and video producers are very welcome.

Suggested length: 500–1000 words. But you decide. Make it longer if you wish.

You may also write to IMAGINUS PO Box 147 City Island Station NYC, NY 10464