Island Earthquake

Submitted by ub on Wed, 09/25/2019 - 05:25

A magnitude 6.0 earthquake has affected the following island nations: The Bahamas, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Hispaniola (Dominican Republic, and Haiti) Saint Martin, Sint Maarten, Guadeloupe, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Turks and Caicos Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, Caribbean Netherlands, Saint Barthélemy, Antigua and Barbuda, and Anguilla.

An earthquake was recorded at 8:12 tonight 34 miles north of Aguadilla. The quake was recorded at 29 kilometers deep, according to data from the Puerto Rico Seismic Network. There was no tsunami risk for Puerto Rico.

When occurring in the same area of ​​the earthquake reported yesterday, it is considered as a replica of the initial event.

The center of the quake was about 43 miles from Isabela, Puerto Rico.