CImages.me

The Holidays

Submitted by ub on Mon, 10/08/2018 - 12:41

This is the most wonderful time of the year when children pick and choose their favorite pumpkin which is used for jack-o-lantern as the inside carving makes for delicious pumpkin pies.

#CityImages welcomes the time for relaxation and festivity beginning with Haloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's day with the intervening time to celebrate many others like Hannukah, Kawanza...etc.

This special time from starts in October until January during which many holidays are celebrated. We are looking forward to celebrating with family and friends during the holidays. The image of a young lady above in my youngest, Olivia.

Here's a partial list of some of the special dates which fall during this three month period.

Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
Oct 1 Monday Child Health Day Observance
Oct 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
Oct 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
Oct 7 Sunday Chicago Marathon Sporting event
Oct 8 Monday Columbus Day Local observance Florida
Oct 8 Monday Columbus Day Federal Holiday All except AK, AR, CA, DE, FL, HI, MI, MN, ND, NV, OR, SD, TX, VT, WA, WY
Oct 8 Monday Native Americans' Day Local observance South Dakota
Oct 8 Monday Indigenous People's Day Local observance Alaska
Oct 8 Monday Indigenous People's Day Local observance CA*, MN*, WA*
Oct 9 Tuesday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
Oct 9 Tuesday Leif Erikson Day Observance
Oct 12 Friday real Columbus Day and my birthday
Oct 13 Saturday Navy Birthday Observance
Oct 15 Monday White Cane Safety Day Observance
Oct 16 Tuesday Boss's Day Observance
Oct 18 Thursday Dussehra Hindu Holiday
Oct 18 Thursday Alaska Day State holiday Alaska
Oct 20 Saturday Sweetest Day Observance 13 states
Oct 26 Friday Nevada Day State holiday Nevada
Oct 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Christian
Nov 2 Friday All Souls' Day Christian
Nov 4 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Nov 4 Sunday New York City Marathon Sporting event
Nov 6 Tuesday Election Day State holiday 14 states
Nov 6 Tuesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Nov 8 Thursday Return Day Delaware State holiday Delaware
Nov 10 Saturday Marine Corps Birthday Observance
Nov 11 Sunday Veterans Day Federal Holiday
Nov 12 Monday Veterans Day observed Federal Holiday
Nov 21 Wednesday The Prophet's Birthday Muslim
Nov 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Federal Holiday
Nov 23 Friday State Holiday State holiday Georgia
Nov 23 Friday Presidents' Day State holiday New Mexico
Nov 23 Friday Lincoln's Birthday/Lincoln's Day State holiday Indiana, West Virginia
Nov 23 Friday Day After Thanksgiving State holiday 22 states
Nov 23 Friday Family Day State holiday Nevada
Nov 23 Friday Black Friday Observance
Nov 23 Friday American Indian Heritage Day State holiday Maryland
Nov 26 Monday Cyber Monday Observance
Dec 2 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Christian
Dec 3 Monday Chanukah/Hanukkah (first day) Jewish holiday
Dec 6 Thursday St Nicholas' Day Observance
Dec 7 Friday Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day Observance
Dec 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
Dec 10 Monday Last Day of Chanukah Jewish holiday
Dec 12 Wednesday Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe Observance
Dec 13 Thursday National Guard Birthday Observance
Dec 17 Monday Pan American Aviation Day Observance
Dec 17 Monday Wright Brothers Day Observance
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve State holiday KS*, LA, MI, NC, ND, OK, SC, TX, VA*, WI
Dec 24 Monday Washington's Birthday State holiday Indiana
Dec 24 Monday Washington's Birthday State holiday Georgia
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Federal Holiday
Dec 26 Wednesday Kwanzaa (first day) Observance
Dec 26 Wednesday Day After Christmas Day State holiday KS, KY, NC, NH, SC, TX
Dec 31 Monday New Year's Eve State holiday LA, MI, WI
Dec 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance and Happy New Year 2019