Catholic churches ordered closed

Submitted by ub on Thu, 10/30/2014 - 07:20

More than 50 Catholic churches are being shut down throughout NYC. The Archdiocese of New York says many parishes will be merging. Some 50 churches will be affected, mostly in Manhattan and The Bronx.

A total of 14 percent of the 368 parishes in the city and Hudson Valley will be merging. The names of the affected parishes have not yet been released. The Archdiocese has been working on process of merger for several years, in particular the last 14 months.

The NYC Archdiocese covers three boroughs in New York City and seven counties: Manhattan, Bronx, Staten Island, and Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester counties in New York state.

Cardinal Dolan: Archdiocese of NY to merge several parishes