Super Truthday?

Submitted by ub on Wed, 02/24/2016 - 20:34

Its called Super Tuesday for good reason, but this time around it may be referred to as SUPERTRUTHDAY.

Super Tuesday will take place on March 1, 2016. This is the biggest single day for presidential candidates to receive delegates, with voting in 12 states and one U.S. territory. The day is a turning point in most presidential elections, typically serving as the key indicator as to who the party nominees will be.

On the Republican side, it's businessman Donald Trump, Florida Sen. Marco Rubio, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, Ohio Gov. John Kasich and retired neurosurgeon Ben Carson.

For Democrats, it's former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders.

Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont and Virginia will hold primaries for both parties. Alaska will hold its Republican caucus while American Samoa will caucus for Democrats. Colorado will caucus for both parties though only the Democrats are choosing a candidate. Republicans in Colorado have opted to select delegates only and then let those delegates choose which candidate to support at the national convention.

This year, Super Tuesday is also known as the "Sec Primary." Earlier in the year, Alabama, Arkansas and Texas opted to join Georgia and Tennessee in holding primaries on Super Tuesday. The influx of Southern states, all of which have sports teams that compete in the Southeastern Conference led to the name the SEC Primary.

In most cases, states participating in Super Tuesday will award delegates proportionally, meaning candidates will receive delegates based on the percentage of votes they receive, as long as they meet a certain threshold. That threshold varies by state.

Is it all over after Super Tuesday? No, but the crowd may thin. There are still large primaries ahead, including Florida, Illinois, North Carolina and Missouri on March 15 and New York in April 19. The final multi-state primary day isn't until June 7, when California, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico and South Dakota, as well as North Dakota Democrats, will be casting ballots.