Submitted by ub on Thu, 07/17/2014 - 23:10

Nominations for the 35th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards have been announced by NATAS National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

The News & Documentary Emmy Awards will be presented on Tuesday, September 30th, 2014, at a ceremony at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, located in the Time Warner Center in New York City.

The event will be attended by more than 1,000 television and news media industry executives, news and documentary producers and journalists. Emmy® Awards will be presented in 43 categories, including the first-ever categories reserved for news & documentary programming in Spanish.

William J. Small, the legendary CBS News Washington Bureau chief from 1962-1974, and later President of NBC News, will receive the prestigious Lifetime Achievement award at the 35th Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards. “Bill Small is an icon in the television news industry,” said Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS. “As Bureau Chief of the CBS Washington News office throughout the 60′s and 70′s, he was paramount in the dramatic evolution of network news that continues today. Recruiting the likes of Dan Rather, Bob Schieffer, Bill Moyers, Ed Bradley, Diane Sawyer and Lesley Stahl among many others, he changed not only who we watched each evening but how.”

Yangaroo, Inc. is the official provider of the Digital Media Distribution System Awards Management Solution (“DMDS”) for the submission, judging and voting of all programs in the 35th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards. Accounting services for the competition are provided by the firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP. Off the Wall Productions are the sponsors of the official News & Documentary gift bags.

The 35th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming distributed during the calendar year 2013.

The list of nominees for the 35th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:

Winners to be Announced at a Gala Event at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center. Nominees include new categories for News & Documentary Programming in Spanish

William J. Small, Former CBS Washington Bureau Chief and Former President of NBC News to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award.